This is a very good question! Please note that no one from Pumpkin-Online, staff or admins, will ever use or sell your information you have given us. Now you are waiting on the reason yes?
That was done for account verification, so if someone were to say they had a problem with accessing their account (especially good for billing) we could verify that it really is you. However, it was in the testing phase, it has now been removed, for now. The only thing that will be on at this time is the country.
Once the game goes into a public testing phase however, that will be re-enabled and working. Once more it is for your security, that is why we had also added the privacy settings to it.
I hope that answers your questions and resolves the fears?